Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Courtrooms as Sites of Resistance (Aug 8)

August 8 @ 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm

 

Join Survived & Punished for Day 3 of our #FreeThemAll Week of Action:
Courtrooms as Sites of Resistance: A Twitter Chat

Wednesday, Aug 8, 2018
3pm PT/5pm CT/6pm ET
@survivepunish

Courtrooms are a key site of violence in the “abuse to prison pipeline”. Judges, attorneys, and media covering trials systematically displace survivors’ narratives of their own experiences to construct them as criminals and justify incarceration. Join the chat to learn about the systemic violence enabled by the judicial system, and how organizers and advocates are pushing back using coordinated direct action, participatory defense, courtwatches and court support, and media advocacy!

 

Details

Date:
August 8
Time:
3:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Event Categories:
,
Website:
twitter.com/survivepunish

Venue

Twitter
Website:
https://twitter.com/survivepunish

Organizer

Survived & Punished