Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Post-Conviction Relief 101 & Legal Update on the #FreeTewkunzi Campaign (Aug 9)

August 9, 2018 @ 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

4pm Central (2pm PT / 5pm ET)

During this one-hour conference call, attorney Rachel White-Domain will provide a very brief 101-level overview of post-conviction relief options for incarcerated survivors. This call will also provide a legal update on Tewkunzi Green’s case. Ms. Green is a survivor who is currently serving 34 years and who is pursuing post-conviction relief.

The primary audience for this call is those with little to no legal background, especially activists/organizers who are engaged in support efforts for incarcerated folks and who are seeking to learn the basics about post-conviction legal options. The talk would also be useful to legal workers, law students, and lawyers who are not familiar with this particular area of the law and who are wondering how they might assist incarcerated survivors in their own practice.

Call-in number: +1 515-604-9947
Passcode: 474933

Details

Date:
August 9, 2018
Time:
4:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Event Categories:
,

Venue

Conference Call
Call-in number: +1 515-604-9947 Passcode: 474933

Organizer

Illinois Clemency Project
Website:
http://clemencyproject.com