Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Criminalization Systems, Family Separation, & Community Solidarity: #FreeThemAll Twitter Power Hour (Aug 10)

August 10 @ 11:00 am - 12:00 pm

11am PT / 1pm CT / 2pm ET

Family separation at the Southern border has recently been in the news, as well as the trauma of separating kids, the lack of basic resources to support people inside detention centers, and the emotional and sexual abuse suffered by children and adults inside these cages. This is familiar to the many people who have suffered under a long US history of locking up people in youth and adult detention centers/jails/prisons. Families have been separated by arrest and police violence, by state foster systems as well as the structural violence that is poverty. Criminalization systems harm whole families, whole communities, but there is also a long and growing history of families, communities, and defense campaigns organizing to support the survival of those captured, and their loved ones, and to get us all free.

Details

Date:
August 10
Time:
11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Event Categories:
,
Website:
twitter.com/momsunitedchi

Venue

Twitter
Website:
https://twitter.com/survivepunish

Organizer

Moms United Against Violence & Incarceration
Website:
twitter.com/momsunitedchi