Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

May 18: #FreeLiyah Twitter Power Hour

May 18 @ 10:00 am - 11:00 am

#FreeLiyah Twitter Power Hour
Monday, May 18 @ 10am PT/12pm CT/1pm ET

Follow @survivepunish (moderator – questions will come from this account)

Use hashtags: #FreeLiyah #FreeThemAll #ClemencyNow #FreeSurvivors #SurvivedAndPunished

Background: Liyah Birru is an Ethiopian immigrant survivor of domestic violence, who is currently in ICE detention for defending herself from her abusive husband. Like so many Black women who dare to defend themselves, Liyah is being punished for protecting herself against the severe violence of a man who said no one would believe her if she ever dared to ask for help. We are here to say that we not only believe Liyah, but will fight for her freedom, dignity, and right to safety from domestic violence.

Liyah will have her immigration bond hearing on May 19, the first time since she has been in immigration detention for the past year and a half. As we hope that Liyah will be granted bond, the fight continues. Even if Liyah is granted bond, she will not be safe from deportation unless Governor Newsom grants a pardon to stop her deportation. Join us in taking action to #FreeLiyah!

Details

Date:
May 18
Time:
10:00 am - 11:00 am
Event Category:

Organizer

#FreeLiyah Campaign
Website:
https://freeliyah.org/