Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

#FreeThemAll Week of Action (Aug 6-12)

August 6 - August 12

Please join us on August 6-12 for #FreeThemAll National Week of Action to demand the immediate release of ALL criminalized survivors.

Each day we’ll share information, updates, experiences of survivors, and ways for people to take action, including:

  • Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault, and Criminalization
  • Arrest and Pre-Conviction
  • Trial in Criminal Court
  • Post-Conviction (parole, commutations, and pardons)
  • Immigration and Deportation
  • Impact of Criminalization of Survivors on Loved Ones, Families, and Communities

Join us in Sacramento, San Francisco, Chicago, New York, and elsewhere as we fight for the freedom of criminalized survivors!

#FreeThemAll Twitter Power Hour: Demand the immediate freedom of all criminalized survivors!
Monday, August 6, 2018 (12pm PT/2pm CT/3pm ET)

To kick off the #FreeThemAll National Week of Action, Survived and Punished will lead a twitter power. Together, we’ll highlight how survivors of domestic violence and sexual assualt are criminalized by police, courts, jails, prisons, and deportations. Learn how you can disrupt the abuse to prison (to deportation) pipeline and show up for criminalized survivors. Join us to demand the immediate freedom of all criminalized survivors – follow @survivepunish for updates!

Drop LWOP Rally & Speak Out
Organized by California Coalition of Women Prisoners, Coalition United for Responsible Budget
Monday, August 6, 2018 (12-1pm)
California State Capitol (North steps), Sacramento

The majority of people serving Life Without Parole (LWOP) in the women’s prisons are survivors of domestic and sexual violence. Join the California Coalition for Women Prisoners (CCWP) and CURB as we visit the capitol to rally to #DropLWOP and present Governor Brown with our request that he commute every Life Without Parole Sentence in the state of California. We will also visit state elected officials to urge their support for various sentencing reform bills.

Questions? Contact info@womenprisoners.org

Arrest & Pre-Conviction: #FreeThemAll Twitter Power Hour
Tuesday, Aug 7, 2018 (9am PT/11am CT/12pm ET)

Courtrooms as Sites of Resistance: A Twitter Chat
Wednesday, Aug 8, 2018 (3pm PT/5pm CT/6pm ET)

Courtrooms are a key site of violence in the “abuse to prison pipeline”. Judges, attorneys, and media covering trials systematically displace survivors’ narratives of their own experiences to construct them as criminals and justify incarceration. Join the chat to learn about the systemic violence enabled by the judicial system, and how organizers and advocates are pushing back using coordinated direct action, participatory defense, courtwatches and court support, and media advocacy!

Post-Conviction Relief 101 & Legal Update on the #FreeTewkunzi Campaign
Thursday, August 9, 2018 (Time TBA)

During this one-hour conference call, attorney Rachel White-Domain will provide a very brief 101-level overview of post-conviction relief options for incarcerated survivors. This call will also provide a legal update on Tewkunzi Green’s case. Ms. Green is a survivor who is currently serving 34 years and who is pursuing post-conviction relief.

Black and Pink Chicago’s Letter Writing to Incarcerated Women in Illinois
Organized by Black & Pink Chicago
Thursday, Aug 9 (6:30pm – 8:30pm)
Chicago

Join Black and Pink Chicago as we write letters to our inside members who identify as women and to incarcerated survivors with whom Love & Protect corresponds. We will lift up the #FreeThemAll week of action and share loving and healing words to honor all criminalized survivors. Attendees can include personal notes and reflections.
Contact Person: Jason Lydon, jasonmlydon@gmail.com
#AbolishICE: Free All Criminalized Survivors
Organized by Survived and Punished California, ASPIRE, California Immigrant Youth Justice Alliance
Thursday, August 9, 2018 (6-8:30pm)
Asian Americans Advancing Justice – Asian Law Caucus; 55 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94612

Join Survived & Punished for a teach-in about surviving violence, ICE and the experiences of criminalized immigrant survivors! We will be sharing what we know about demystifying ICE, systems of criminalization/policing and deportation; how gender and gender violence impact people’s experiences of being targeted by ICE; what’s changed & what hasn’t for undocumented/immigrant survivors under this administration; and how we can support more immigrant survivors in our communities. We will also have Ny Nourn and Floricel Liborio Ramos, two survivors of domestic violence and immigration detention, share their thoughts, experiences and analyses with us. RSVP here!

Sharing Stories of Self-Defense and Survival in the #MeToo Era
Organized by Survived and Punished New York
Thursday, August 9, 2018 (6:30-8:30pm)
Asian American Writers Workshop, 110-112 West 27th Street, Suite 600, New York, NY 10001

As the #MeToo Movement brought gender violence to the forefront of the national conversation, New York State has continued to criminalize and incarcerate survivors of gender violence at an alarming rate. The Survived and Punished #FreeThemNY Campaign is demanding that Governor Cuomo commute the sentences of survivors of gender violence who are in prison throughout New York State. A huge portion of survivors, overwhelmingly Black women, are unsupported and unaccounted for by the mainstream anti-violence and anti-domestic violence movement, leading to a gap in the national conversation around the #MeToo Movement. This event is part of the National #FreeThemAll Week of Action. Our local event will increase awareness for incarcerated survivors by sharing their stories and elevate our demand that Governor Cuomo commute their sentences.

Criminalization Systems, Family Separation, & Community Solidarity: #FreeThemAll Twitter Power Hour
Organized by Moms United Against Violence & Incarceration
Tuesday, Aug 10, 2018 (11am PT/1pm CT/2pm ET)

Family separation at the Southern border has recently been in the news, as well as the trauma of separating kids, the lack of basic resources to support people inside detention centers, and the emotional and sexual abuse suffered by children and adults inside these cages. This is familiar to the many people who have suffered under a long US history of locking up people in youth and adult detention centers/jails/prisons. Families have been separated by arrest and police violence, by state foster systems as well as the structural violence that is poverty. Criminalization systems harm whole families, whole communities, but there is also a long and growing history of families, communities, and defense campaigns organizing to support the survival of those captured, and their loved ones, and to get us all free.

Want to host your own event and participate? Join us! Fill out this form to share your knowledge and advocate for freedom of all criminalized survivors!

#FreeThemAll National Week of Action is anchored by African-American/ Black Women’s Cultural Alliance, Free Marissa Now Mobilization Campaign, Love & Protect, Moms United Against Violence & Incarceration, National Council for Incarcerated and Formerly Incarcerated Women and Girls, and Survived & Punished

Details

Start:
August 6
End:
August 12
Event Categories:
,
Event Tags: